Welcome to Granite State College's Library & Research Commons
This is an exciting time for the GSC Library. We have a new name, new focus, and soon we will be integrating new e-resources. Part of the change is a rethinking of the LibGuides, now called Research Guides. Some obvious changes you will notice by the beginning of Winter Term:
- There is a new that focuses on the research process, from plotting a strategy to your final revision and submission.Research Toolkit
- A new research guide for GSC's Teacher Education Program
- A greater emphasis on linking the guides specifically to the curriculum.
- Linkage with Moodle: We have a direct link from your online class in Moodle to the College Librarian.
Guide to Navigating the Research Guides Site
We have tried to simplify the navigation of the research guides. Here is a brief description of how get get the most out of the guides:
A good analogy is to think about each guide as a book. Within a book are chapters- these are the tabbed sections of each guide, and within a chapter are pages- these are the individual pages included under each tab. If a tab has a chevron "v" next to the tab label it means there are multiple pages associated with the tab.
Here is a Description of Each Tab in this Guide:
- Electronic Reference Tools: If you are interested in more general resources, such as maps, dictionaries, thesauri, and much more this is the guide to use. Access the electronic Reference Room via the tab.
- Electronic Databases: If you are looking over the GSC database offerings use the tab labeled "Electronic Databases." You will find access to free databases, databases requiring your GSC Username and Password, and information, and help on how best to search specific databases.
- E-book Collection: This is a small but growing collection. Use the tab to access.
- Individual Class Research Guides: Along the right navigation is an index of the research guides presently available. These are course-specific guides that have been developed with the assistance of faculty teaching GSC courses. Each guide is tailored to the particular class and contains a list of relevant databases, e-books (when available) and related information,
- Borrowing from other NH Academic Libraries: This can be quite confusing for GSC students. Use the tab to find specific information on how to access and use these resources.
- Index to Research Guides: This is and index of the research guides presently available. These are course-specific guides that have been developed with the assistance of faculty teaching GSC courses. Each guide is tailored to the particular class and contains a list of relevant databases, e-books (when available) and related information,
Right Navigation Boxes
There are a standard set of right navigation boxes within the Research Guides. They include:
- Help is Available: This box contains a direct e-mail link to the GSC Librarian.
- Link to the Research Toolkit: If you are interested in the research process from start to finish, use the tab labeled "Research Toolkit." Within the toolkit are pages on each aspect of the research process from defining and refining a topic through proofreading and the presentation of your research paper.
- GSC Program Links: We link to major GSC programs from a right navigation box. Within the program areas you will find both general topic resources as well as links to individual course research guides.
Still Can't Find the Information You Need?
- Use the Research Guides Search Engine
- Contact the GSC Librarian for help.
Top Level Index
Research Help is Available
The GSC Librarian is available to help you with your research.
Contact the GSC Librarian



Loading content... please wait
